Chair Jeffrey E. "Jeff" Johnson

First Vice-Chair Chris Wooten

William H. Bailey
Gary S. Brewer
April Cromer
Kambrell H. Garvin
Leon Douglas "Doug" Gilliam
Thomas Duval "Val" Guest, Jr.

William M. "Bill" Hixon Joseph H. "Joe" Jefferson, Jr. Wendell Keith Jones Roger K. Kirby Josiah Magnuson John R. McCravy, III Timothy A. "Tim" McGinnis Adam M. Morgan Travis A. Moore Russell L. Ott Marvin R. Pendarvis Marvin "Mark" Smith

Charles L. Appleby IV Legal Counsel

Cathy A. Greer
Administration Coordinator

Lewis Carter Research Director

Roland Franklin
Counsel/Associate General Counsel for Litigation

Riley E. McCullough Research Analyst

Post Office Box 11867 Columbia, South Carolina 29211 Telephone: (803) 212-6810 • Fax: (803) 212-6811 Room 228 Blatt Building

Tuesday, September 26, 2023 10:30am Blatt Building Room 521

Archived Video Available

I. Pursuant to House Legislative Oversight Committee Rule 6.7, South Carolina ETV was allowed access for streaming the meeting. You may access an archived video of this meeting by visiting the South Carolina General Assembly's website (http://www.scstatehouse.gov) and clicking on *Committee Postings and Reports*, then under *House Standing Committees* click on *Legislative Oversight*. Then, click on *Video Archives* for a listing of archived videos for the Committee.

Attendance

I. The Healthcare and Regulatory Subcommittee meeting was called to order by Chair Joseph H. Jefferson, Jr. on Tuesday, September 26, 2023, in Room 110 of the Blatt Building. Two subcommittee members (Chair Jefferson; and Representative Roger Kirby) were present, and three absent (Representative Thomas Duval "Val" Guest, Jr., Representative April Cromer, and Representative Marvin "Mark" Smith) for all or a portion of the meeting.

Minutes

I. House Rule 4.5 requires standing committees to prepare and make available to the public the minutes of committee meetings, but the minutes do not have to be verbatim accounts of meetings.

Approval of Minutes

The committee did not have a quorum and did not vote on the Wednesday, August 9, 2023, meeting minutes.

Discussion of the Study of the Department of Consumer Affairs

- I. Chair Jefferson states the purpose of the meeting, which is to hear from agency leadership regarding internal agency operations and consumer protection initiatives.
- II. Carrie Grube-Lybarker, Administrator/ Consumer Advocate; Bailey Parker, Communications Director; and Mandy Self, Identity Theft Unit, Director; addressed the subcommittee regarding the following topics:
 - Administration Division (e.g., staffing, services and processes, etc.);
 - Public Information & Education Division (e.g., marketing, reporting, partnerships, etc.); and
 - Identity Theft Unit (e.g., consumer education, reporting and data, scams and fraud, etc.)

Adjournment

III. There being no further business, the meeting is adjourned.